top of page
  • shinyharley

Easter Fettling Part 1

So, at just over 16,000 miles the Mad Orange Thing is due for a bit of TLC...



Important Vape tool

The first thing to do is fit footrests designed for an XJR1300...apparently a little larger and more comfortable for my giant Orc Boots...

Old Footrest

New Footrest

Sadly Yamaha Rivet one side of the originals...



Bosch

Cunningly placed magnetic tool tray...I'm not usually that tidy!






Going to need a 30mm socket...

That's the badger - thanks to my glamorous shopper :)

I can still hear you saying you will never break the chain...but thankfully I have the right tools for this :)







And with the aid of a long lever (give me somewhere to stand and I will move the world) the front sprocket is off!


Long arm of the Shiny

And soon the back wheel too...love my Abba Stand


Out with the old and in with the new then...


Tidy,,,


95Nm on the front sprocket, 80 on the rear


Stick the new chain in and fit the link...


Nice of them to Colour Coordinate my Chain Monkey


And time for a beer or several. Looks easy eh? Well, my back hurts like a bastard and I appear to have been working down a coal mine! However, the barbie is lit and the sun is shining so all is well. Tomorrow, new front brake lines and pads, and repairs to a YBR125 that went down the road on Monday. Keep it shiny side up :)

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page