top of page
  • shinyharley

Can I have fun on any motorcycle?

Updated: Jan 22, 2022

(Spoiler alert - probably yes, but I could do with two or three more)


Later this year (all being well) I will be off for five days and about 1,000 miles riding with some friends, taking in the Yorkshire Dales, Peak District, Lake District and a night in Scotland. At present my options are my much loved 2014 MT-09 owned from new (aka "the mad orange thing") and a 2004 CBF600 purchased this winter somewhat accidentally on eBay for £820.


My heart (and my entirely immature side) says MT-09. My head (and the small part of my brain that recognises I am not 19 anymore says CBF.


Not the most obvious choice for a long distance.


Obviously I have toured on the MT in the last 7 years, but as you can see it is not necessarily the most obvious choice. I have upgraded the suspension and the seat since this photo, but it is still a challenge at times (not least actually getting on the bike given my short legs).


The CBF is like a big gentle armchair by comparison. It came with a Givi Top box on it, and a large screen. The seat is softer even than the gel and memory foam adapted one on the MT. The problem is that while I enjoy riding it I don't feel passionate about doing so. I know that when I am tired after a long day riding (or staying up too late the night before) the CBF would be a much more sensible choice.



Lovely soft Honda


And there is the dilemma. The MT makes me grin like an idiot. Sometimes it scares me too if I am not paying attention - it has a mischievous side that will unexpectedly lift the front wheel when I am a bit clumsy and say "ha - wake up fool"! It has also been known to wiggle like an excited puppy that is pleased to see me.


This got me thinking about bikes I have loved, and bikes I have loved less...


Loved


  • My first love - Popsicle Purple FS1-E

Because it was my first taste of being free to travel and explore on my own (or with like minded people), and my introduction to mending (and breaking) motorcycles.


  • My sister's TS100ER

Because I could ride it from Dorset to London (on back roads) to stay with her for the weekend, and do lots of unwise teenage things. I'm pretty sure I did my training and passed my test on this as well as falling off it. The seat was mostly duct tape and used to freeze solid in the winter and then gradually give me a cold, damp bum as it defrosted.


  • My DT175MX

Because I could get muddy, pull wheelies and also for a great summer holiday in Cornwall one year (as well as at least one Glastonbury Festival). Never sold it but have no idea where it is (Glastonbury Festival could be a factor in the memory lapse)! See https://shinyharley.wixsite.com/website/post/where-in-the-world-is-my-dt175mx


MT DT and my Sister's GSX400f in Cornwall


  • My GSX550EFE

Because it was my first "big" bike and my first taste of being able to go (relatively) quickly. Rode that from Land's End to John O'Groats, to France, and as much as I possibly could with any excuse.


  • My RD350R (The Brazilian built one with twin headlights).

Because who didn't want an RD350. Bought on impulse (ironically when I had popped out to buy some deodourant and spotted it in a shop). It got backed over by a Transit Van sadly.


My CRF250M - kind of. Fun to ride through the winter but underpowered. This was the "supermotard" version with the road tyres, so the fun was mostly not slowing down for corners.


Less Loved


The XS250 I owned before my GSX - I didn't have much money and it was reliable transport, but heavy and not very quick. I did have the advantage of having cost £50 after being dragged out of retirement in someone's overgrown front garden ("excuse me mister, do you want to sell that old bike?")


The XT350 I owned briefly - because in truth it was too tall for me, a pain to start, and I was using it to commute 70 miles a day which is not really the purpose of it. Nothing against the XT in other circumstances.


The shed of a GPz550 that was probably my biggest learning curve in reviving neglected and butchered motorcycles. Caught fire once when I was on the Winchester Bypass. Never have been keen on electrics!


The ER-5 I bought as a more sensible commuter than the XT. Reliable, competent, not very exciting.


The R1100RT I bought as a more interesting commuter than the ER-5. Very reliable, very competent, equally not very exciting.


A series of three Harley's - two 883 Sportsters and a 1200 Sportster. Primarily to try and slow myself down (didn't work). Shiny and ridiculously loud. Good fun at times but spent most of the time not being ridden.


My GS450E and my XJ600 Diversion - both owned for many years and covered many, many miles - including as a dispatch rider. The Diversion went to France several times, the GS did seven suspension bridges in the UK for a Bike Aid charity event.


GS450E and the Humber Bridge



So, can I have fun on any motorcycle?


I realise my answer is very specific to me (and apologies to anyone if I have "loved less" a bike that you feel passionate about). I have also by no means covered everything I have owned or ridden.


Yes, I can. I can definitely have more fun on some than others. I'm of an age (and weight) where 125s probably don't work for me any more - although I seem to have an enduring relationship with a series of YBR125s that are part of my extended family.


Looking back on the above I would conclude a number of things:


  • since I first slung a wobbly leg over the Fizzy I would settle for having any bike I could afford to own and run over not having a bike at all.

  • sometimes I have picked the wrong bike for the wrong main purpose.

  • sometimes I have picked the right bike for the right purpose, and still not felt passionate about it.

  • I have loved about a third of the bikes I owned.

  • Most of the best bike memories I have are shared with others - and this is certainly the case over the past few years shared with several Triumphs and a couple of Kawasaki's who regularly share my escapades.

  • I'm not very good at going slowly. The adolescent who got hooked at 19 by the GSX550 is still very much there.


Will I take the CBF or the MT away this year? The sensible bit of me says I will wait and see, and look at the weather forecast. most of me says:




I guess we will have to wait and see ;)





64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page