top of page
  • shinyharley

Four Days in Wales - April 2022

Updated: Jun 16, 2022


All good trips require a bit of planning and preparation, and for me the first step was repairing a puncture I had picked up on the Himalayan. This prompted me to decide whether or not I could actually do this at the side of the road in the middle of nowhere.


I haven't tackled a puncture in probably 40 years (and I'm not sure I was much good at it then) but I purchased some levers and had a go! What I learned unsurprisingly is that Motorcycle tyres are a lot tougher than bicycle ones, and that it's really frustrating doing the whole thing twice when you pinch the tube putting it back together the first time. Had I been at the side of the road in the rain I may just have decided to use the bike as an impromptu camp fire (reminder to pack a lighter for future trips)!



Having succeeded with this it was then time for a couple of other modifications - lowering the rear suspension slightly with some second hand dog bones and the not very essential task of changing the exhaust (the new one is much lighter and much prettier though).




Day One

Somewhat overcast and the only day we had a little rain. As little motorway as possible (not the Himalayan's natural habitat). A little eventful as I managed to fall off (whilst not moving) - cheers for picking me up Chris! Later my Himi decided to run with the engine warning light on for no apparent reason, and then about 30 miles later got bored of that little game and never did it again - character eh?


Day Two

Quite probably the best and most scenic day of riding I have ever had (in nearly 38 years on motorcycles). For the first two hours we passed two vehicles - it helped being on 'roads' that you probably wouldn't want to take a car on. Later in the day we met a logging truck on a steep twisty descent, and had we been in a car would probably have needed to reverse up a steep hill for about two miles (or resort to the 'quick conversion from vehicle to campfire' strategy).


Day Three

To be honest was nearly as epic as Day Two - tiny twisty roads covered in debris, interspersed with sections on flowing A roads, set amid the dramatic backdrop of Snowdonia.



Day Four - headed home

Started off spending time riding through a cloud as we crossed into England, and ended in warm sunshine. Missing the Welsh roads and the mountains, and back to traffic and potholes. Only a half day riding compared to the seven or eight hours we managed the previous days, and about 550 miles in total for me overall. Himi got a much needed bath. Great to be home, but I will miss chugging along on the muddy donkey through spectacular scenery.





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page